The unbelievable reason why Kenedy has escaped FA ban after kick out vs Cardiff – Very lucky

Some great news to report this afternoon, with it being confirmed that Kenedy will NOT face retrospective action following his kick out in Saturday’s 0-0 draw with Cardiff.

This means the Brazilian will escape a three-game ban (which would’ve seen him miss the League Cup trip to Forest and our trip to Man City), however he will still be unavailable to play on Sunday – with us facing his parent club Chelsea at St James’ Park.

Given it was a clear kick out way after the ball was played, you may wonder how on earth he’s escaped punishment..

It’s a good question, but here’s an explanation:

The 22-year old clearly had a kick at Victor Camarasa, but it seems referee Craig Pawson saw it at the time and mentioned the incident in his post-match report, with this appearing to be the reason he blew for a free kick quickly after it happened during the first half.

He’s admitted he saw it at the time and did give a free-kick, but how he didn’t brandish a red card is quite unbelievable if this is the case.

We’ve got away with one here – not that I’m complaining!

(Fancy writing for us? Send any articles/ideas over to us at [email protected] & we’ll get back to you!)

About Olly Hawkins

Olly has been a Junior Magpie from birth. As a season ticket holder and avid Newcastle United fan - he eats, sleeps and breathes all things NUFC.

5 thoughts on “The unbelievable reason why Kenedy has escaped FA ban after kick out vs Cardiff – Very lucky

  1. Idiot!
    We never doubted that the ref, having given a free kick, couldn’t then claim he hadn’t seen the incident
    Perhaps we punters know the rules better than the experts
    But we don’t have to sell exciting inches of opinion for a living

      (Quote)

  2. Sometimes I do question your loyalty. your comments reads more on the lines that you believe he should have got a red card.

    “He’s admitted he saw it at the time and did give a free-kick, but how he didn’t brandish a red card is quite unbelievable if this is the case”.

      (Quote)

  3. Camarasa made a massive meal of it which may be why the ref didn’t show a red. Not sure why anyone is questioning loyalty here… 99.9% of the football world seems to say it should have been red.

      (Quote)

  4. Kenedy is a very lucky lad. Saying it how it is doesn’t mean that there should be any question of loyalty! That’s quite pathetic.

    The ref was atrocious throughout and he clearly gave a free kick, just for seeing the Cardiff player on the floor, because he wasn’t looking at what was happening right in front of him 😮 Arter’s kick was even worse and I’m baffled as to how he stayed on the pitch.

    Even worse was Ritchie’s booking. He pulled out of the tackle and the Cardiff defender went right through his own man. It shouldn’t have even been a foul, never mind a booking and that surely affected Rafa’s decision to bring him off and not risk another red card, as Ritchie would have had to defend when Hayden went off. Plus, he would probably have been on the pitch at the end and therefore would have taken the penalty. The ref’s poor decisions, therefore, had a huge effect on the game!

      (Quote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green