Newcastle United announce the club’s official player of the year for 2017/18

Newcastle United have announced that Jamaal Lascelles has won the club’s official player of the year award for 2017/18 – a well deserved moment for the NUFC skipper who’s been absolutely outstanding all season.

There were some fears that, despite his heart and first class attitude, the former Forest man would struggle to make the step up to the Premier League after the odd shaky moment in the Championship, however this couldn’t have been further from the truth.

He’s been a shining light for the club both on and off the pitch, backing up his brilliant words with top class and consistent performances week in, week out.

Here’s some of his best moments over the past year:

As released by NUFC’s official site, here’s the previous winners over the past 20 years:

1997/98 David Batty
1998/99 Alan Shearer
1999/00 Alan Shearer
2000/01 Shay Given
2001/02 Nobby Solano
2002/03 Alan Shearer
2003/04 Olivier Bernard
2004/05 Shay Given
2005/06 Shay Given
2006/07 Nicky Butt
2007/08 Habib Beye
2008/09 Sebastian Bassong
2009/10 José Enrique
2010/11 Fabricio Coloccini
2011/12 Tim Krul
2012/13 Davide Santon
2013/14 Mike Williamson
2014/15 Daryl Janmaat
2015/16 Rob Elliot
2016/17 Ciaran Clark
2017/18 Jamaal Lascelles

Mr. consistent, colossal at the back and a fantastic captain for our club.

Well deserved!

(Fancy writing for us? Send any articles/ideas over to us at & we’ll get back to you!)

About Olly Hawkins

Olly has been a Junior Magpie from birth. As a season ticket holder and avid Newcastle United fan - he eats, sleeps and breathes all things NUFC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green