Brilliant video exposes VAR’s ridiculous decision to deny NUFC blatant penalty at Burnley

The Magpie Group have shared a brilliant video following our 2-1 win against Burnley that shows up the total inconsistency when it comes to a ‘high foot’ in football.

Anyone watching new we should have been awarded a stonewall penalty in the first half when James Tarkowski’s reckless high boot clattered into Sean Longstaff as he went to follow up Dwight Gayle’s blocked shot.

Despite play being paused so the video assistant could look at the situation, Newcastle still weren’t awarded a spot kick for what looked like a clear and obvious error by the referee.

However, what angered our supporters further was when Longstaff was fouled in similar fashion later on, but this time Anthony Taylor gave us a free kick. The only difference in the two tackles was that one was inside the box and the other wasn’t!

Here is The Magpie Group’s edited video comparing the two incidents:

VAR has come under immense pressure this season for the glaring inconsistencies it has continued to dish out on a regular basis.

In fact, the only thing it has been consistent in is being woefully inconsistent, with offsides, handballs, red cards and penalty decisions causing fans across the country to vent their anger at the technology.

When you look at two instances like this – in the same game – it doesn’t look good for the Premier League who are desperate to make VAR work.

7 thoughts on “Brilliant video exposes VAR’s ridiculous decision to deny NUFC blatant penalty at Burnley

  1. It has been stated many times that the penalty was not given because Tarkowski was not aware that Longstaff was there, AND Longstaff put his head in the way of Tarkowski’s boot after the latter had kicked the ball.

    Personally I’d say Longstaff was playing for the penalty.
    If it was a genuine attempt to head the ball why did he get kicked on the TOP of the head?
    Professional footballers don’t try to head the ball with the TOP of their head.
    Unless your name’s Shola.

    And it “knew”, not “new”.

      (Quote)

  2. Maybe because the ball before it was kicked at head height, would have been hitting his forehead, and personally if i saw an opposition players boot heading for my head, i would have ducked……..the question is why Tarkowski is allowed to kick the nall at head height knowing there maybe a player coming in to head it, the kick was wreckless anywhere on the pitch, it is a free kick (as was shown later in the game when the same player did the same out of the box……It should have been a penalty, whether he knew the player was there or not, you shouldnt run the Risk.

      (Quote)

  3. The Burnley player had the choice of heading the ball or raising his foot he made the choice of kicking it at head height stone wall pen

      (Quote)

  4. dangerous play at the very least, which is a foul, Manure were denied a goal because Mctominay flicked his hand in Sons face (which was a foul) yet kicking an opponent in the head in the box is not a foul……..beggars belief

      (Quote)

  5. BykerBill:
    It has been stated many times that the penalty was not given because Tarkowski was not aware that Longstaff was there, AND Longstaff put his head in the way of Tarkowski’s boot after the latter had kicked the ball.

    Personally I’d say Longstaff was playing for the penalty.
    If it was a genuine attempt to head the ball why did he get kicked on the TOP of the head?
    Professional footballers don’t try to head the ball with the TOP of their head.
    Unless your name’s Shola.

    And it “knew”, not “new”.

    It’s irrelevant whether he knew Longstaff was there or not. His foot was high & it was reckless.
    I think you are probably right about Longstaff looking for it as he appealed almost immediately – which was his mistake. It probably cost him the decision & if he rolled round on the floor holding his head the ref probably would have give the penalty.

    Longstaff was right to go for the ball and was right not to roll round – but the ref & VAR were wrong not to give the penalty – and everyone in football, including ex professional referee Dermott Gallagher agrees the penalty should have been given.

      (Quote)

  6. wow I’ve heard some cabbage talk in my time but to want to be kicked in the face takes the royal cabbage throne

      (Quote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green