England announce initial Euro 2020 squad – NUFC trio left out & 4 uncapped players feature

England boss Gareth Southgate has just named his provisional squad for this summer’s European Championship – a 33-man line up that features no Callum Wilson, Karl Darlow or Joe Willock.

Here’s squad in full – which must be cut to 26 on June 1st – featuring four uncapped players in Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United), Ben White (Brighton), and Ben Godfrey (Everton):

GOALKEEEPERS: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United).

DEFENDERS: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City, Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton).

MIDFIELDERS: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

FORWARDS: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa) 

The fact no Newcastle United players feature is unsurprising, yet Karl Darlow will be gutted he lost his place in Bruce’s side over the second half of the season now Nick Pope’s injury has seen relegated duo Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United) and Sam Johnstone (West Brom) have made the initial 33-man line up.

The same applies to Callum Wilson – a man who could well have taken Ollie Watkins’ place had he stayed fit over the final 10-15 games of the 2020/21 season.

NUFC loan star Joe Willock also misses out, despite becoming the youngest player in Premier League history to score in SIX consecutive games before matching Alan Shearer’s ‘7-in-a-row’ record with yet another goal at Fulham on the final day.

Here’s some the other names who’ve missed out on Southgate’s initial 33-man squad (* = injured):

  • Patrick Bamford (Leeds)
  • Danny Ings (Southampton)
  • Tammy Abraham (Chelsea)
  • Eric Dier (Tottenham)
  • Dele Alli (Tottenham)
  • James Maddison (Leicester City)
  • Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa)
  • Lewis Dunk (Brighton)
  • *Harvery Barnes (Leicester City)
  • *Nick Pope (Burnley)
  • James Tarkowski (Burnley)
  • Callum Hudson Odoi (Chelsea)
  • Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea / AC Milan)

Here’s the seven I can see dropping out when the squad is cut to 26 on June 1st:

  1. Aaron Ramsdale
  2. Ben White
  3. Reece James
  4. James Ward-Prowse
  5. Jesse Lingard
  6. Bukayo Saka
  7. Ollie Watkins

What do you reckon, folks? Let us know in the comments section!

About Olly Hawkins

Olly has been a Junior Magpie from birth. As a season ticket holder and avid Newcastle United fan, he eats, sleeps and breathes all things NUFC!

One thought on “England announce initial Euro 2020 squad – NUFC trio left out & 4 uncapped players feature

  1. I was going to comment on why did you select Darlow, Wilson and Willock?
    Darlow can’t get in the team, Wilson is injured and Willock is an Arsenal player!

    Then I remembered it’s not that long ago you were complaining that Lascelles and Shelvey didn’t make the squad.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.