The 25-man squad Steve Bruce looks set to submit after disastrous end to transfer window

With the transfer window closed and our 2021/22 campaign underway, it’s now just a matter of time until Steve Bruce submits his official 25-man squad for the first half of the new Premier League season.

Sadly, there’ll be no new names added from the squad the finished the 2020/21 season, with us failing to make a single signing after turning Joe Willock’s loan move into a permanent deal last month.

As a result, it seems certain Steve Bruce will name FOUR goalkeepers in ‘the 25’ – despite the fact one seemed likely to drop out had we managed to sign Hamza Choudhury on deadline day.

Here’s the squad that looks set to be submitted to the Premier League in the coming weeks:

  1. Martin Dubravka
  2. Karl Darlow
  3. Freddie Woodman
  4. Mark Gillespie
  5. Jacob Murphy
  6. Javier Manquillo
  7. Emil Krafth
  8. Jamaal Lascelles
  9. Federico Fernandez
  10. Fabian Schar
  11. Ciaran Clark
  12. Paul Dummett
  13. Matt Ritchie
  14. Jamal Lewis
  15. Jonjo Shelvey
  16. Isaac Hayden
  17. Joe Willock
  18. Sean Longstaff
  19. Jeff Hendrick
  20. Miguel Almiron
  21. Ryan Fraser
  22. Allan Saint-Maximin
  23. Callum Wilson
  24. Joelinton
  25. Dwight Gayle

Just like Matty Longstaff last season, Elliot Anderson doesn’t need to be included, as players under the age of 21 are able to feature in the Premier League without being named in the official 25-man squad.

For me, there’s so many holes in this squad. There’s a lack of options up top – we have just TWO out and out strikers to play with – few wide men should we switch formation, little quality in midfield and a real lack of pace at centre-back.

About Olly Hawkins

Olly has been a Junior Magpie from birth. As a season ticket holder and avid Newcastle United fan, he eats, sleeps and breathes all things NUFC!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.