Bruno Guimaraes has not held back in his defence of himself and his Newcastle United teammates following Saturday night’s 1-0 defeat at Man City.
After the likes of he and Miguel Almiron were criticised by some sections of the fanbase on social media, fan account NUFC360 asked ‘is it too early in the season to start focusing blame onto individual players?’ and ‘was there an overreaction to the loss to Man City?’
Bruno hasn’t taken long to respond, posting this comment:
“Is this serious? We are in Champions League football we lost against maybe one of the best teams in the world and we have a big win and lost one game! Support in the best moment is easy! Short stupid memories you all have. Look what we have done for the team this 1 year and half.”
The Brazilian has already deleted this comment, but it’s clear some of the criticism has angered both him and his teammates. We weren’t at our best on Saturday night, but we were up against THE best team in world football and played Aston Villa off the park in a 5-1 win less than 10 days ago.
It’ll be the vocal minority, but anyone slating the lads on Saturday night needs to take a long, hard look at themselves. Well said, Bruno!







The support has always been there even in the really bad times.
Yes the team have done more than anyone could have realistically expected in the last year and a half, but fans are entitled to give an opinion on individuals who have underperformed, just as they are prepared to deliver the accolades when they perform well which the players are happy to accept.
Man City are a class act (with 15+ years to get where they are) and we didn’t perform badly at all, but even Eddie Howe admitted we didn’t show our best side.
Joseph(Quote)
It’s the first sign of a fascist regime when fans are not allowed to express their own honest opinions.
Yes – it’s only one game, and yes – City are possibly the best team on the planet, but it was an extremely disappointing performance.
It was so bad that the club didn’t even bother to put out the extended highlights of the match on their YouTube channel, understandably because there wasn’t enough good material to make it last 10 minutes.
Fans have to be able to reserve the right to express their disappointment.
Nice to see Bruno standing up for the team, but the fans’ comments are about now, not last season.
Freddd(Quote)
Got to agree with comments above.
All the press give player ratings … out of 10 usually.
Sometimes very low scores … not hearing players complain about this?
Individual supporters on social media just puts these ratings in words.
They are entitled to their opinions.
#HWTL #HWTLasses #39Legend
Geoff777(Quote)
Fascist regime? Talk about an overreaction. Good god.
He, and every player, is entitled to think “are these people serious?” Cup final and top 4. Best year in recent memory. A bad performance against the best team in the world, in their stadium, and people saying let’s pick out individuals to blame.
Anyone who goes along with this rhetoric needs to take a good look at themselves. One bad performance and the knives come out.
We don’t deserve a team that tries and works like this lot, if this is how we act after 1 very reasonable loss, and to say “fascism” when someone tells you to show some respect and gratitude, it’s ridiculous.
Toonali87(Quote)
Comparing papers and sports sites, who have to write “unbiased” reports designed to evoke reactions and clicks to actual FANS who are supposed to be biased and love and support the players.
Thats not exactly a like for like comparison. It doesn’t make sense.
I really hope this is a case of outspoken minority because I’m embarrassed to see our fans act like spoiled brats.
Toonali87(Quote)
TOTAL AGREE with Bruno These So called supporters have very short memory’s
John(Quote)